The Samples Behind Kanye West’s ‘The College Dropout’

Following a look at Ghostface Killah’s Supreme Clientele earlier this week, Power 106‘s Wax Only series is back to examine Kanye West‘s debut album, The College Dropout.

Released in 2004, College Dropout has sold over four million copies worldwide. It also received 10 Grammy nominations, winning Best Rap Album.

The album featured five singles: “Slow Jamz,” which peaked at number one on the Billboard Hot 100, “Jesus Walks,” which won a Grammy for Best Rap Song, “Through the Wire,” “All Falls Down,” and “The New Workout Plan.”

Wax Only is a series that showcases samples used on classic hip-hop albums. It is hosted by Power 106’s Production Director, Vin Rican.

Watch above to see Vinny go through the samples on The College Dropout.

Related: The Samples Behind Ghostface Killah’s ‘Supreme Clientele’