Rob Sickelco

Mojaxx Reviews PLAYdifferently MODEL 1.4 Mixer

A few years after the release of the MODEL 1, techno legend Richie Hawtin and the PLAYdifferently team are back with the MODEL 1.4. Like its predecessor, the MODEL 1.4 was engineered by Andy Rigby-Jones, the mastermind behind Allen & Heath’s XONE series.

The 100% analogue build features two high-performance phono preamps, studio-grade 60mm faders, and more. The Mixer Link feature, as the name implies, allows for multiple mixers to be connected.

The MODEL 1.4 is available now at a suggested price of $2,299. Check it out here and watch Mojaxx‘s review above.

Related Post: Pioneer DJ Announces DJM-S7 Mixer

Pioneer DJ Announces DJM-S7 Mixer

(Source: Pioneer DJ)

Pioneer DJ has announced their latest two-channel battle mixer, the DJM-S7. The unit is geared toward open-format DJs, allowing a range of customization options to tailor the mixer to each individual’s performance style. It also comes in at a more affordable price point than Pioneer DJ’s other two-channel mixers.

The DJM-S7 has the 16 large performance pads (eight per channel) and Magvel fader their battle mixers are known for. Each channel’s pad modes are independent, meaning, for example, deck one’s pads can be set to trigger hot cues while deck two is set to the sample bank.

The effects section includes all 22 Beat FX from the DJM-S11, and the mixer also has Bluetooth connectivity for additional audio routing. Other features borrowed from the DJM-S11 (when used with Serato DJ Pro) are Scratch Bank, Gate Cue, and the aforementioned Combo Pad mode.

Loop MIDI, a new feature exclusive to the DJM-S7, allows DJs to use the effect levers to send MIDI messages to Serato DJ Pro and rekordbox, as a way to control performance features rhythmically.

Pioneer DJ’s DJM-S7 is available now at a suggested retail price of $1399 USD. Watch Mojaxx’s first look below.

Related Post: Pioneer DJ Announces DJM-S11 Mixer

RANE Announces Its First All-in-One Controller, the ONE

RANE ONE. (Source: Serato)

RANE has officially entered the controller market with the release of the ONE. Similar to the design of the TWELVE, the ONE aims to satisfy the needs of turntablists while providing the convenience of a portable, all-in-one piece of tech.

The ONE features motorized platters with 7.2-inch removable acrylic disks. The mixer section features an adjustable crossfader, allowing scratchers to fine-tune their experience. Each deck has eight RGB pads and includes the Scratch Bank feature recently added to Serato DJ Pro, which allows users to easily load scratch samples or full tracks to either deck.

In related news, Serato has announced their latest update, Serato DJ Pro 2.4.4. This update provides support for the RANE ONE and will be available on their website at 12 PM PST.

Watch Mojaxx’s full review of the RANE ONE controller below.

Related Post: RANE Revitalizes Its Flagship SEVENTY-TWO Mixer and TWELVE Controller

DJ ND Drops ‘Best of 2020’ Mix

(Source: DJ ND)

DJ ND, host of DJcityTV’s Made From Scratch tutorial series, has put together a mix of the hottest tracks of 2020. The German turntablist throws down a high-energy club mix focused mostly around the best hip-hop, Latin, and moombahton records to come out over the past year.

ND is an accomplished battle DJ, having competed in the Red Bull 3Style and reached the World Finals in the DMC multiple times. He is also a representative of turntable cartridge manufacturer Ortofon.

Also available on Apple Podcasts, Stitcher, and TuneIn.


1. DJ ND – “Live & Direct Son” Intro
2. Pop Smoke – Dior – ELLINGTONE Clapapella Intro
3. Cardi B – WAP – A-Smooth Multi Beat Edit
4. Kid Cudi, Skepta & Pop Smoke – Show Out
5. Internet Money, Don Toliver & Roddy Ricch – Lemonade Remix
6. Kanye West – Love Lockdown – Tall Boys Lemonade Edit
7. Jack Harlow – WHATS POPPIN – MarkCutz Acap Intro
8. Migos – Need It – DJ ND Get In My Car Edit
9. Famous Dex ft. Rich The Kid & Tyga – What I Like – Tall Boys Transition
10. Tyga, Saweetie & YG – Money Mouf – DJ ND Salt Shaker Edit
11. Major Lazer & Nucleya ft. Rashmeet Kaur – Jadi Buti
12. Charly Black & Sak Noel – Diggy Dee
13. Bad Bunny – Yo Perreo Sola – Dozarm & Groove Boyz Remix
14. 6ix9ine – YAYA
15. J Balvin – Amarillo – DJ Dexterous Re-Drum
16. Yung T & Bugsey ft. Headie One – Don’t Rush
17. S1mba ft. KSI – Loose
18. S1mba ft. Lil Tecca – Rover – Lil Tecca Remix
19. Stormzy ft. Aitch – Pop Boy
20. Roddy Rich – The Box – DJ D-Tale & Richastic Remix
21. Roddy Rich – The Box – Adam Doubleyou & Nick Bike Controlla Bootleg
22. Asap Ferg ft. Tyga – Dennis Rodman
23. Megan The Stallion – Savage – DJ Bizzon Acap Intro
24. Drake – Toosie Slide – David S Teach Me How To Dougie Edit
25. The Weeknd – Blinding Lights – Pistols Explosive Lady Edit
26. Pop Smoke – What You Know Bout Love
27. DJ Khaled ft. Drake – POPSTAR
28. DJ Khaled ft. Drake – GREECE
29. Pop Smoke – Got It On Me
30. DaBaby ft. Roddy Ricch – Rockstar – J Star Hype Intro
31. Megan The Stallion – Girls In The Hood
32. Dr. Dre ft. Snoop Dogg – Still D.R.E. – Quick Throwback Edit
33. Wiz Khalifa – Still Wiz – MarkCutz Still D.R.E Intro
34. Scott Storch ft. Ozuna – Fuego Del Calor – MarkCutz Just A Lil Bit Toneplay Edit
35. Major Lazer ft. French Montana & BEAM – Bam Bam
36. Bad Bunny & Nicki Jam – BAD CON NICKY – MIND CTRL Remix
37. ASH – Money Drop
38. Mr Eazi & Major Lazer ft. Nicky Minaj & K4mo – Oh My Gawd – KUMASH Remix
39. Pop Smoke ft. Lil Tjay – Mood Swings – MarkCutz Moombah Edit

Follow DJ ND on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Related Post: Win a Pair of Ortofon VNL Cartridges by Recreating DJ ND’s Flare & Tear Combo

DJ Stonic’s Latest ‘Scratchflix’ Episode Parodies ‘Black Mirror: Bandersnatch’

Reigning Red Bull 3Style Italy champion Stonic has called upon an impressive lineup of turntablists for the latest episode of his Netflix parody series Scratchflix. The “Scratch Mirror: Banderscratch” episode puts a choose-your-own adventure style spin on a traditional scratch cypher.

Stonic is joined by Damianito, DJ Delta, Dj D_MiND, Kut Real, SupaMario, DJ Bolla, DJ Kamo, DJ YANEZ, and Zio.n. At the end of the first video, viewers can make a choice: clicking the link to one of the following videos takes you to either the next DJ’s routine or to a “game over” page where you have the option to start over.

Start the interactive game by watching the video above.

Related Post: Watch: ‘Scratchflix’ Parodies ‘Ninja Assassin’

Omnitronic TRM-402 Review: Rotary Mixing On A Budget?

In this episode of Tips and Tricks, Mojaxx reviews the most affordable four-channel rotary mixer on the market: the Omnitronic TRM-402. This mixer sets out to prove that you may not really need to spend $1000+ to have some knob-twiddling fun.

Watch Mo’s review above.

Related Post: Mojaxx’s ‘Tips and Tricks’ 2020 Wrap-up